What items are included in the Google search preview of a city government website?

I came across this news “Annapolis named National Treasure” from the National Trust for Historic Preservation – Preservation Green Lab.  My first time heard of this city, so I tried to Google it, and got the following Google search preview:

Annapolis.

Out of curiosity, I tried several other cities, and understandably, got different results – Boston, Cambridge, New York City, Seattle, Bellevue.

bostonCambridgeNYCSeattleBellevue

I don’t know how Google decided what items to list in this search preview. But unless it just works randomly (which I highly doubt), I think this preview is actually a preview of the focuses of the City’s public agenda, and an indication of the character of the city and the municipal government itself. It would be interesting to collect and compare such Google search preview of different cities.

Leave a Reply

